top of page

Precious Cargo




It has been quite a while since we have had an exciting update, that’s because we have been filtering through lots of paperwork between us and our donor family. We are relieved that all the paperwork is complete and we are moving on to much more exciting steps! This week our 3 little embryos were shipped across the country in containers called “dry shippers”, these are small tanks that are charged with liquid nitrogen so they can keep a temperature of -310°F so our embryos stay frozen and safe until they arrive at our clinic.


Before they were shipped we had to fill out our wishes on how they would be transported which was such a difficult decision. We had to choose whether we wanted them to be transported all in one shipping container, or in separate containers. We had to select who would transport them, and agree with how the clinic would handle them. Although these seem like fairly simple decisions, we did not want our decisions to be the reason they lived or died. “What if there is an accident, and they all die because they are in one container?” “What if they aren't stored at the right temperature?, if we have multiple containers they could be safe.” These were the things I was asking over and over, creating so much fear and anxiety over this step. My husband reassured me that our Lord is sovereign and whatever happens will be honoring and glorifying him. I have found a new trust in my God that I never thought I would encounter, but he is good. My babies are safe. His will be done.


So what's next? We are so close we can feel it. I have to say, it feels really weird to have our adopted children sitting in a freezer just waiting to feel the warmth of human touch and the home of their mothers womb. Our next step is to complete another evaluation. This includes blood work as well as an ultrasound to make sure I do not have any cysts or blockages, as well as measure the lining of my uterus. Once we complete the exam we prepare for a cycle to start. Most people work with their natural cycles, however having PCOS I do not have natural cycles so mine will be medically initiated. I will take daily medications and injections to prepare my uterus for the transfer otherwise known as implantation. This could take anywhere from 2-6 weeks depending how my body reacts and wants to cooperate. I've added what an example calendar of medication and preparation will look like:


Our calendar may be busy in the upcoming weeks as we prepare, but we could not be more excited! We have waited over a year to get to this point, and we are very hopeful for the outcome. We are still very aware of the potential heartbreak that comes with this, but we are staying hopeful and encouraged. Our God has provided thus far, and he deserves all praise regardless of how this ends. I keep dwelling on the beauty of Psalm 139 in our family-


“For you formed my inward parts;

you knitted me together in my mother's womb.

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

Wonderful are your works;

my soul knows it very well.”


The Lord knows our children, even in the freezer they are living in, and he will know them as they grow in my womb, and he will know them as we hold them in our arms. Lord, please protect these children.



Comments


bottom of page