top of page

It Is Well





It was my birthday last week, I’m only 24 and have been blessed far more than my lifetime deserves. My husband and I have struggled with infertility since we got married and by 24 I thought surely I would be pregnant or even have a few children, but God has blessed us with a better plan. Although there was a lot of sadness and anxiety the past few years, in this last year we have experienced so much love and have been blessed beyond belief. In less than 12 months, in less than 365 days we were blessed with 3 sweet babies. We were blessed with a church family that has supported us, weeped with us, encouraged us, and prayed for us. In the last 12 months we have been able to share and educate dozens of friends and families on the bittersweet hope of Embryo Adoption, share our story of growing our family, and display the humanity our frozen children carry.


My husband and I have found a conviction and desire for adoption that is stronger than the wildest storm, and I have a new found furious love for the orphan. In the last year I have learned the heart of the barren, to weep with women who have lost or experience the lack of children in their home. I have been able to gain friendships across the country centered in the gospel, speaking freely of our strong desire to share that same gospel to our children. I have found a new love for other people's children, a bond I hope to keep as long as I live. The Lord has been good.


In the last year, there were many seasons of grief, anger, anxiety, but the greatest of these was hope. I have talked often of the hope my children deserve, but this is a hope regarding much more than my family. This is a hope fastened in a sovereign God, the same God that shaped the earth has also designed my life until my dying day.


So for the next 365 days I have set many aspirations and desires, mainly revolving around my family, and God willing I pray they come to pass. I pray to hold my children in my arms, to study homeschooling preparation for the future, to start new traditions, to grow in my conviction and expand my desire to study. I pray that in this next year the Lord will sanctify me more, and shape me into the woman, wife, and mother that displays His Word by her tongue, actions, and thoughts.


In the next year of life, there may be many changes, many feelings, and many blessings to come. So, through this roller coaster we call life I will say “if is well with my soul”.


IT IS WELL WITH MY SOUL by Horatio Spafford


When peace, like a river, attendeth my way, When sorrows like sea billows roll; Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say, It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well, with my soul, It is well, with my soul, It is well, it is well, with my soul.


Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come, Let this blest assurance control, That Christ has regarded my helpless estate, And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

It is well, with my soul, It is well, with my soul, It is well, it is well, with my soul.


My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought! My sin, not in part but the whole, Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more, Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

It is well, with my soul, It is well, with my soul, It is well, it is well, with my soul.


And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight, The clouds be rolled back as a scroll; The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend, Even so, it is well with my soul.

It is well, with my soul, It is well, with my soul, It is well, it is well, with my soul.



Comments


bottom of page